The US is raising the pressure on Iran, saying that countries which continue to buy oil from Tehran next month will face sanctions.

That means China, India, Japan, South Korea and Turkey, who had been given a reprieve when sanctions were first imposed, will no longer be exempt.

The waivers are due to expire on May 2.

Al Jazeera's Rosiland Jordan reports from Washington, DC.

Code: d88362. 12% OFF Coupon for Sports Action Cameras

More videos

CGTN 23 May 2019 05:15 CEST

India's election 2019