After a morning of speeches from lawmakers, the Senate split 51-49 in a procedural vote to end the debate over Brett Kavanaugh's nomination to the Supreme Court. Sen. Lisa Murkowski of Alaska was the one Republican who voted "no," while Sen. Joe Manchin of West Virginia was the one Democrat who voted "yes" to advance Kavanaugh's nomination.

A final vote is expected this weekend, though senators are able to vote differently than they had for Friday's procedural vote.

Find more from PBS NewsHour at

PBS NewsHour podcasts:


Code: FD10BET. New players now get a 50% up to €100 First Deposit Bonus!

More videos