Belgium: Von der Leyen presents new EU Commission

Incoming EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen shared her vision for the executive branch and presented her new team, in Brussels, on Tuesday.

"I want Europe to be the front-runner. I want Europe to be the exporteur of knowledge, technologies and best practice," she stated, adding that she wants a Commission that "understands Europe, that listens to what Europeans want."

Five of Von der Leyen's Vice-Presidents are current Spanish Foreign Minister Josep Borrell, Czech Vera Jourova, Greek Margaritis Schinas, Slovak Maros Sefcovic and Croatian Dubravka Suica for Democracy.

The Commission will also have a new structure with three Executive Vice-Presidents: Frans Timmermans, from the Netherlands, Executive vice president for European Green Deal, Danish Margrethe Vestager and Latvian Valdis Dombrovskis.

Code: SPORTS20. Sports Travel Discount. Get $20 Off. Promo Code: SPORTS20

More videos

Associated Press 11 May 2020 11:44 CEST

AP Top Stories May 11 A