Ballon d'Or

Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d'Or award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won football's Ballon d'Or award for a fourth time.

Italy refused to vote in protest over Ballon d'Or list

A spokesperson from the Italian football federation (FIGC) said that the refusal to vote was meant to be a signal to the world football governing body.

World Footballer of the Year award winners

Lionel Messi and Carli Lloyd were on Monday crowned as the FIFA Ballon d'Or winners for 2015. The following is a list of all men's and women's winners since the FIFA World Player award was introduced in 1991. Men's award: Year Name Country Club(s)

Messi hits form as world player award looms again

Lionel Messi hits a majestic hat-trick for Barcelona at the weekend and prepares to head to Zurich on Monday for what could be a fifth world footballer of the year award.