List of secretaries general of the United Nations

The secretaries general of the United Nations since the organization's inception in 1945.

1946-1952: Trygve Lie of Norway, who served until his resignation following the Soviet Union's decision not to recognize him because of the authoritzation for UN forces to aid South Korea. The US also accused him of employing US citizens suspected of being communists at the UN.

1953-1961: Dag Hammerskjold of Sweden, who served until his death in a plane crash in September 1961.

1961-1971: U Thant of Myanmar

1972-1981: Kurt Waldheim of Austria

1982-1991: Javier Perez de Cuellar of Peru

1992-1996: Boutros Boutros-Ghali of Egypt

1997-2006: Kofi Annan of Ghana

2007- : Ban Ki-moon of South Korea (term runs through December 2016)

Last update: Sat, 02/01/2016 - 08:03

More from World

Trump says Japan's Softbank will invest 50 billion dollars in US

US president-elect Donald Trump announced Tuesday that Japanese telecommunications giant Softbank will invest 50...

Egypt arrests 41 over alleged organ-trafficking ring

Egyptian authorities said on Tuesday they had broken up a major organ-trafficking ring, arresting 41 people...

EU starts "new era" of NATO cooperation amid uncertainty over Trump

NATO foreign ministers signed a deal on closer collaboration with the European Union on Tuesday, with the bloc's top...

Trump threatens to cancel orders for new Air Force One planes

US President-elect Donald Trump threatened Tuesday to cancel the planned purchase of new presidential planes because...

Regime advances fast in Aleppo as Russia insists on rebel pull-out

Syrian regime forces made rapid inroads in eastern Aleppo Tuesday, as government ally Russia accused the United...