World Footballer of the Year award winners

Lionel Messi and Carli Lloyd were on Monday crowned as the FIFA Ballon d'Or winners for 2015. The following is a list of all men's and women's winners since the FIFA World Player award was introduced in 1991. Men's award: Year Name Country Club(s)

2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United 2007 Kaka Brazil AC Milan 2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid/Juventus 2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona 2004 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona 2003 Zinedine Zidane France Real Madrid 2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid 2001 Luis Figo Portugal Real Madrid 2000 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus 1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona 1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus 1997 Ronaldo Brazil Inter Milan 1996 Ronaldo Brazil Barcelona/PSV Eindhoven 1995 George Weah Liberia AC Milan 1994 Romario Brazil Barcelona 1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus 1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan 1991 Lothar Matthaeus Germany Inter Milan Women's award:

2015 Carli Lloyd United States Houston Dash

2014 Nadine Kessler Germany VfL Wolfsburg 2013 Nadine Angerer Germany Brisbane Roar 2012 Abby Wambach United States magicJack 2011 Homare Sawa Japan Inac Kobe Leonessa 2010 Marta Brazil Gold Pride/Santos 2009 Marta Brazil Los Angeles Sol/Santos 2008 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2007 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2006 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2005 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2004 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2003 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2002 Mia Hamm United States Washington Freedom 2001 Mia Hamm United States Washington Freedom

Last update: Mon, 11/01/2016 - 20:05


Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d'Or award


Monday, December 12, 2016 - 21:18

More from Sport

Sevilla beat Real Madrid to end their 40-game unbeaten run

Sevilla ended Real Madrid’s 40-game unbeaten run on Sunday in Spain’s top division with a 2-1 victory.

Barcelona president reassures supporters over Messi's future

 Barcelona president Josep Maria Bartomeu reassured supporters on Saturday that the club would renew Leo Messi’s...

Record champion Peterhansel clinches Dakar rally win

Record winner Stephane Peterhansel secured his 13th Dakar Rally victory when he held off fellow Peugeot driver...

Croatia's Kostelic says goodbye to World Cup races in Wengen

Swiss Niels Hintermann on Friday won a World Cup Wengen men's super combined, while the best Croatian Alpine skier,...

Benzema strike helps Madrid set unbeaten record in cup thriller

Karim Benzema's stoppage time strike helped Real Madrid set a new Spanish record of 40 games unbeaten on Thursday,...