Swiss parliament votes to expand freedom of movement protocol to include Croatia

A majority of lawmakers in the lower house of the Swiss parliament on Tuesday voted in favour of expanding the freedom of movement protocol with the European Union to include Croatia, Swiss media said.

The conservative Swiss People's Party voted against, saying that the ratification of the protocol would be against the wish of the Swiss people as expressed at a referendum in February 2014 when a majority voted in favour of restricting immigration.

Switzerland was required to sign the protocol after Croatia joined the EU in mid-2013, but refused to do so in the 2014 referendum.

The European Commission threatened Switzerland that it would be denied access to some of the EU financing schemes unless it adopted the protocol. Since 2014, the Swiss have been refused participation in the Horizon 2020 research programme and the Erasmus+ student mobility programme.

The Swiss government said in March it had agreed with the Commission to expand the protocol to include Croatia, noting that the agreement required ratification by both chambers of the Swiss parliament.

Switzerland is not a member of the EU, but has concluded about 20 major bilateral agreements with the Union, including on free movement of people.

Last update: Tue, 12/07/2016 - 13:20

More from Europe

French presidential hopeful to meet Merkel, outline plans for Europe

French conservative presidential candidate Francois Fillon is set to meet German Chancellor Merkel in Berlin on...

Left-winger and former premier top French primary

Benoit Hamon and Manuel Valls were out in front in France's nationwide primary on Sunday to choose who will be the...

Romanian president joins thousands in anti-government rally

Thousands of Romanians were joined by President Klaus Iohannis in a street protest in Bucharest on Sunday against...

Suspected accomplice detained in Germany in foiled Vienna attack

A 21-year-old man and his wife have been arrested in their home in the western German city of Neuss on suspicion of...

May vows to press Trump on "unacceptable" remarks in Friday meeting

British Prime Minister Theresa May on Sunday vowed to confront US President Donald Trump about any "unacceptable"...