Preliminary results of the November 8 parliamentary election show that most preference votes have been won by candidates heading party slates, but several candidates on three leading party slates will be sitting in the parliament owing primarily to preference votes, including the leader of the MOST (Bridge) coalition of independent slates, Bozo Petrov.

In Constituency No. 10 Petrov was the last, 14th candidate on his coalition's slate, but he won 59.70% of preference votes, show data from the State Election Commission (DIP) after 95% of ballots have been counted.

Preferential voting enables a candidate on a slate, regardless of their position on the slate, to enter the parliament if they win at least 10% of all preference votes given to the slate.

Owing to preference votes, outgoing Construction and Zoning Minister Anka Mrak Taritas of the Croatian People's Party (HNS) will have a seat in parliament as well. In Constituency No. 2, Mrak Taritas was eighth on the slate of the Croatia Is Growing coalition and she won 10.91% of preference votes. Her party colleague, Varazdin County head Predrag Stromar, 14th on the coalition's slate in Constituency No. 3, won 16.54% of preference votes and will be sitting in the parliament as well.

Stevo Culej, who was eighth on the slate of the Patriotic Coalition in Constituency No. 5, will probably be sitting in the parliament as well, having won 10.88% of preference votes. Drazen Barisic of the same coalition, who was the eighth candidate on the slate in Constituency No. 6, won 12.07% of preference votes, and Ivan Kirin of the Patriotic Coalition, who was the seventh candidate on the coalition's slate in Constituency No. 8, won 10.94% of preference votes and both of them will sit in the parliament.

As for the candidates of the Patriotic Coalition, the most preference votes went to Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) leader Tomislav Karamarko (36.92%), Damir Krsticevic (36.75%), Zeljko Reiner (37.57%), Miroslav Tudjman (30.04%) and Damir Jelic (20.83%).

The most preference votes in the SDP-led Croatia Is Growing coalition have gone to SDP leader Zoran Milanovic (54.39%), Ante Kotromanovic (38.01%), Ranko Ostojic (37.75%), Boris Lalovac (36.77%), Josip Leko (33.12%), Milanka Opacic (28.06%), Sinisa Hajdas Doncic (25.20%), and Zeljko Jovanovic (22.15%).

Most of the preference votes given to the MOST coalition have gone to Petrov, Drago Prgomet (49.75%), Stipe Petrina (43.48%), Ivan Lovrinovic (32.07%) and Robert Podolnjak (28.68%).

Related stories

HDZ harmonises slates for Sept 11 parliamentary election

Croatians choosing new parliament on Sunday

New parliament to hold inauguaral meeting Monday

Croatia to hold parliamentary election on Sunday

Latest news

Syrian opposition rules out future role for President al-Assad

The Syrian opposition said Friday it would not accept any role for President Bashar al-Assad in the future of the war-torn country, reacting to a recent US shift saying that removing al-Assad is no longer a priority for Washington.

Russian Army integrates breakaway forces of Georgian province

Parts of the small fighting forces of the Georgian breakaway province of South Ossetia have been placed under Russian military control, Russian Defence Minister Sergei Shoigu said on Friday.

Czech Republic's Pilsner Urquell beer is now Japanese

Japanese brewing company Asahi completed its takeover of the Czech brewery Pilsner Urquell on Friday, Asahi said in a statement.

Judge approves 25-million-dollar settlement of Trump University case

A US district judge on Friday approved a 25-million-dollar settlement of lawsuits and state fraud allegations against Trump University, the US president's now-defunct business venture.

Former Thai premier Thaksin to junta on reconciliation: 'Cut me out'

Former Thai prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra on Friday announced that he is not interested in the junta-led reconciliation process, three days after the junta handed him a half-a-billion-dollar tax bill for his past business deal.

Dalic: We welcome possible deal between Agrokor and banks

The government welcomes the possibility of an agreement being concluded between the Agrokor food company and creditor banks, and the bill on vitally important companies is not a fallback plan but the result of the government's care for the overall economic and financial stability of Croatia, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy Martina Dalic told a press conference in Zagreb on Friday.

Croatia, China sign action plan for cooperation in agriculture

The Croatian and Chinese ministries of agriculture on Friday signed an action plan for cooperation in the field of agriculture for the period 2017-2018, the Croatian ministry said in a statement.

ZSE indices up, Agrokor shares in focus of investor interest

The Zagreb Stock Exchange (ZSE) indices on Friday rose by more than 1.8%, with stocks of the Agrokor food and retail concern being in the focus of investor interest again.

Berlin police defend handling of Berlin market attacker

Berlin police defended themselves on Friday against accusations that they stopped surveillance on Berlin Christmas market attacker despite knowing in June 2016 he was dangerous.

Croatia, creditors tailor emergency measures to save tottering giant

Croatia's tottering retail and food giant Agrokor reached an agreement with its creditors, putting its debts standby and allowing it to continue working during emergency restructuring, the Croatian branch of Austria's Erste Bank said Friday.

Agrokor's creditors say standstill agreement to go into force today

A standstill agreement regarding the Agrokor concern's existing financial obligations to banks will take effect on Friday, additional capital will be injected into the concern in the coming days and the concern will be actively restructured, which includes a change of its management, it was said on Friday after a meeting between Agrokor's suppliers and creditor banks.

Palestinians, UN slam Israel's new settlement plan

Palestinians, Israeli activists and the UN lambasted the government of Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu on Friday, a day after it gave the go-ahead for the first new West Bank settlement in a quarter of a century.

South Sudan rebels release three abducted foreign oil workers

South Sudanese rebels have released three foreign engineers they abducted in early March in the oil-rich Upper Nile region, Foreign Affairs Ministry official Mawein Makol Arik said on Friday.

Turkish opposition: Imprisoned party chief has gone on hunger strike

The head of Turkey's pro-Kurdish opposition party has launched a hunger strike from prison.

European leagues threaten Champions League schedule clashes

The European Professional Football Leagues (EPFL) on Friday threatened schedule clashes on Champions League matchdays in an ongoing dispute with the governing body UEFA.

Danish court revokes citizenship of IS volunteer

A Danish appellate court on Friday stripped a man of his Danish citizenship for volunteering to fight for the extremist Islamic State in Syria.

Banks and Agrokor agree on key elements of standstill agreement

Member banks of the coordinating committee of financial creditors and representatives of the Agrokor food company have in principle agreed on key elements of a standstill agreement, which is expected to be signed later today, announcing changes in the company's management team, Erste Bank said in a statement on Friday afternoon.

Syrian man on trial in Sweden; mosque attack labelled terrorism

A Syrian man went on trial Friday in the southern Swedish city of Malmo, charged with terrorism and arson after an attack last year on a building used as an assembly hall by Shiite Muslims.