Parliamentary session marking Statehood Day starts

The Croatian Parliament is is celebrating Statehood Day on Saturday, 25 June, with a special session recalling the constitutional decision on Croatia's independence and sovereignty adopted by the parliament on 25 June 1991.

The session is attended by President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic, Parliament Speaker Zeljko Reiner and caretaker Prime Minister Tihomir Oreskovic.

The session started with a minute of silence for Croatia's first President Franjo Tudjman and all Croatian soldiers killed in the Homeland Defence War.

Earlier today, wreaths were laid at Zagreb's central Mirogoj ceremony by Parliament Speaker Reiner, PM Oreskovic and President's Chief of Staff Anamarija Kirinic. A wreath was also laid by a delegation of the City of Zagreb, led by Mayor Milan Bandic.

Mass for the Homeland was served by Cardinal Josip Bozanic and it was attended by President Grabar-Kitarovic, Speaker Reiner, PM Oreskivic and numerous state officials and public figures.

On June 25 1991, the Croatian parliament adopted a decision to launch the process of dissolution from other republics of the then Social Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY), following a referendum on independence held on May 19, 1991.

However, the decision of independence did not come into force until three months later based on the Brijuni Declaration of July 7 at the request of the then European Community in an effort to peacefully resolve the Yugoslav crisis.

Croatia officially became an independent state on 8 October 1991 when the Sabor unanimously adopted the Decision to sever all state-legal ties with other republics and provinces of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY).

The decision on independence and sovereignty was preceded by a referendum when the majority of Croatians (92.18%) voted that Croatia should not remain in Yugoslavia.

Based on that will of the people and with the breakdown of negotiations with former Yugoslav republics the Sabor convened all three houses that existed then and on 25 June adopted the constitutional decision, which marked the start of disassociation from the other SFRY states and seeking international recognition.

Last update: Sat, 25/06/2016 - 13:59


Parliament marks Statehood Day


Saturday, June 25, 2016 - 14:09

More from Croatia

Croatia launches trilateral cooperation in Adriatic with Montenegro and Albania

Croatia has launched trilateral cooperation with Montenegro and Albania in the economy and environmental protection...

Croatian President: Thousands of IS fighters returning to Bosnia

Croatian President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic said in Dubrovnik on Tuesday that one should face the fact that...

Croatia's food industry records 43.7% increase in net profit

Croatia's food industry generated a consolidated net profit of HRK 931.5 million in 2015, which was an annual...

Croatia records highest Q3 GDP growth in EU

The European Union's economy grew by 0.4% in the third quarter of 2016 compared with the previous quarter, and...

Croatian footballer under investigation for tax evasion in Spain

The captain of Croatia's national football team and a member of the Real Madrid squad, Luka Modric (31), has come...