Eighth Croatian parliament to be formally dissolved on Friday

The decision of the eighth Croatian legislature to dissolve itself after the Tihomir Oreskovic cabinet ouster and failure of the HDZ party to form a new ruling majority takes effect on Friday, 15 July. 

The enactment of the decision means that constitutional deadlines for a snap parliamentary election start running. An early parliamentary vote must be held within 30 days of the existing parliament dissolution and no later than 60 days.

The early election for the ninth parliament is likely to be held on the first or the second Sunday in September.

The outgoing 151-seat parliament has been in office 200 days, spending 57 days in session.

Deputies come from 19 parties plus 12 independent lawmakers.

Broken down by gender, 121 are male deputies and only 30 female.

Last update: Thu, 14/07/2016 - 18:36

More from Croatia

Croatian foreign ministry target of hacker attack, classified info not compromised

The Croatian Foreign and European Affairs Ministry has discovered that during the term of the previous government...

Museum of tastes opens in Osijek

A museum of tastes was formally opened in Osijek by Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic on Friday on the occasion of...

PM: Tax reform's positive effects visible as soon as new system is consolidated

Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic said on Friday that his cabinet was implementing a comprehensive tax reform and as...

Croatia world's no. 1 in organ transplants

With 40 organ donors per one million people, Croatia is the number one country in the world in organ transplants,...

SEECP ministerial meeting discusses ways to boost entrepreneurial competitiveness

ZAGREB, Dec 2 (Hina) - A ministerial meeting of the Southeast European Cooperation Process (SEECP), aimed at...