Brunei cancels visa requirements for Croatian citizens

The European Commission said on Thursday it was notified by Brunei that this country in Southeast Asia was cancelling visa requirements for Croatian citizens.

Of the states with which the European Union has a visa-free regime, Brunei was the only one aside from the US which required visas from Croatian citizens.

Canada requires visas from citizens of Bulgaria and Romania, and the US for those of Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Poland and Romania.

The Commission on Tuesday postponed the adoption of any decision on visa regimes with the US, Canada and Brunei, asking the Council of the EU and the European Parliament to launch a debate and take a position on the most appropriate steps, and notify the Commission by July 12.

Under a 2001 EU regulation, the Commission must adopt a decision on temporarily suspending the visa-free regime for third countries that continue to require visas for EU citizens.

Last update: Thu, 14/04/2016 - 18:52

More from Croatia

Hungarian icebreakers arriving on Danube in Croatia

Two Hungarian icebreakers are arriving on the Danube in Croatia this afternoon because of low air temperatures which...

Veterans, Tudjman, Racan deserve credit for Croatia's int'l recognition, SDP official says

The City of Rijeka and Primorje-Gorski Kotar County on Monday organised a commemoration in the northern Adriatic...

HBOR grants EUR 48.3 mln loan to 4 Agrokor companies

The Croatian Bank for Reconstruction and Development (HBOR) has granted a EUR 48.3 million loan to four companies...

Round table for stepping up food import control

Croatians mostly eat quality food, notably if it is domestic, but it is necessary to step up the control of cheap...

Serb rebel accused of expelling Croats from Knin

The Split County Prosecutor's Office has indicted a 59-year-old Serbian citizen for ordering the terrorising and...